Make a homemade heirloom tomato tart for someone you love.

I am a foodie. To be honest, most of what I cook is inspired by a random cooking channel line-up. I love making new food and trying new recipes and would almost always prefer to cook at home over dining out. I am very passionate about this.


tomato-tart-fresh-handmade-tart
Tomato Tart

This tart just came to me. No doubt a mixture of things I have seen or made in the past. I just started pulling ingredients onto my kitchen’s island, and it all came together. Here is what I did

The Crust

I used a basic pie crust, and added some extra flavors. I used 1 cup of flour, 1 stick of butter (sliced), teaspoon salt, egg yolk, and ice water to combine. I also added a teaspoon of black pepper, and 2 tablespoons of sour cream.

I placed the butter, flour, salt and pepper into the food processor. Processed until the butter was small, about the size of peas. I added the egg yolk, sour cream, pulsed once, and began drizzling in ice water, I always stop before the dough completely forms. If you squeeze a little of the dough crumbs between your fingers and it sticks, you are done. Dump the dough crumbles on the counter and schmear the dough with the palm of your hand and the dough will form. Just using your hand, form the ball into a 4 inch round disc, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for about an hour.

The Tart

I used about 3 cups of baby heirloom tomatoes. These were yellow, red, light brown, green in color. I sliced them in halves and placed in a bowl. I sprinkled about a teaspoon of kosher salt on the tomato halves and stirred them gently. I do this because I want to draw out some of the water. After about 30 minutes of so, using a slotted spoon, gently place the tomatoes on paper towels and let the fully drain.

While the tomatoes are draining, take a large yellow onion and slice it as thin as you can with a knife. This is what your mandoline is for, by the way. Use a couple or tablespoons of butter, a tablespoon of brown sugar and caramelize the onions to a deep rich brown. Cool completely.

The Assembly

Flour your workspace. Place the dough on the board. Dust the pin and the dough with flour, and roll out a big circle. This is going to be rustic, so don’t overthink it. You just want a single circle of dough with no cracks. When you are satisfied with the circle, line a baking sheet with parchment. Spray the parchment with cooking spray. Generally, the use of parchment is your stick ristence effort, but the tart is very moist and you’ll want to help the crust brown and get crispy on the bottom.

Roll the dough on the baking sheet, it will hanging over in places but that is perfectly fine. Layer the onions on the tart, leaving about 2 inches from the edges of the dough. Place your tomatoes by hand on the onions making sure to leave the cut side facing up. When you are ready to finish the crust, take an edgefold it up to the tomatoes. Make another fold right next to the first on, and have the second fold just overlap the edge of the first. Continue around the tart until you are completely folded up.

Sprinkle parmesan cheese lightly on the tomatoes and brush the crust with an eggwash. Bake in a 425 degree oven, for at least 20 minutes. Start checking in on the tart and adjust the time appropriately. Last 2 minutes of cooking time, crumble up fresh mozzarella and let melt in the oven.

Remove from oven and sprinkle chopped basil on the top. Cool slightly for about 5 minutes or so.

Enjoy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started